Hari Raya 1430H




Hari Raya comes again. As for me this festival is to be celebrated with my family in the village since I am unable to mind my three girls singlehandedly. I was pretty sure that this Hari Raya would fall on Sunday based on the Hijri calendar.
On the first day of Eid Fitri, I went to perform my Raya prayer at Limau Hantu Mosque, located about 1 km away from my sister’s house. When I arrived home, my eldest sister had already served breakfast for that day and on the dining table, I could see an array of tantalizing and mouth-watering dishes and delicacies waiting for me. I had ‘nasi minyak’ and ‘ayam kurma’ as I found this could make my stomach full until noon.
Then, I went to visit my father who’s now residing at my stepmother’s house. My first two girls tagged me along. We were there for only half an hour before I drove away to my auntie’s house and after spending about 40 minutes there, I moved to the next destination, my second uncle’s house. Here, I had ‘nasi dagang,’ but I didn’t eat much as I had to spare my potbelly for other food.
After that, I went to visit my late mum’s grave that passed away on the third day of Aidil Adha seven years ago. After reciting the Al-Fatihah and Yassin, I decided to take a break since it’s almost 1.30 pm.
On my way back, I dropped by at my late first uncle’s house as my other siblings were already there. At this point, I parted with my two girls since they wanted to join my elder brother’s children to make their Raya rounds. My girls only came back to my side on the third day of Raya.
Below are a few photos taken on the last Hari Raya. For me, Hari Raya is best celebrated when you’re small as you could collect as much money or ‘duit raya’ as possible. In addition, children get the chance to wear new clothes but I even didn’t buy one for myself as I always buy at least a shirt in a month. Thus, I still have some new shirts to wear.

3 thoughts on “Hari Raya 1430H

Leave a Reply

